Discord is one of the most popular voice and text chat platforms on the internet. It is used for everything from gaming communities to niche, enthusiast groups and everything in between. Unfortunately, as with any online community, Discord can attract some bad apples.
If you only use Discord with friends, you will probably never need to use the Mute function. If you are part of larger communities, however, you may encounter someone who harasses you or speaks in a rather nasty way. This article will show you exactly what you need to do to silence someone on Discord.
Muting and blocking Discord users
There are two main ways to prevent someone from interacting with you on Discord- mute the person and block the person. If you deactivate someone on a voice channel, you won’t hear anything they post. However, they can still message you and communicate via text.
If you block a user, not only will it prevent you from seeing their posts in a Discord channel, but they won’t be able to send you private messages.
Will users know they have been disabled or blocked?
There are obvious problems that arise if you mute or block someone on Discord. First of all, it can be offensive. In a close-knit community, this can lead to a lot of problems. This is something no one wants, especially considering how easily these problems can divide groups.
The good news is that Discord doesn’t warn users if they’ve been disabled. They won’t get any messages or notifications, but they may notice if you stop replying to things they say in the channel. Of course, in channels with dozens or hundreds of users, this will be significantly less noticeable.
Discord also doesn’t warn users if you block them. However, if they try to send you a message, it will fail; instead, it will show the sender a generic message that only accepts private messages from friends.
This raises another question- What if they try to send you a friend request? The user will receive a message saying that you are not currently accepting friend requests.
It’s not a perfect solution, especially if that user knows how to contact you outside of Discord, but it’s a less than desirable way to dismiss communication.
When should i deactivate someone on Discord?
If you mute someone in Discord, you won’t hear anything they say in a voice chat. There are times when it is appropriate to mute the sound and other times when a simple conversation can solve the problem.
If you are in a voice chat with someone and they are typing too loudly, playing background music, or doing something else that is distracting, you can turn it off to reduce the sound. This is also beneficial if you are in a room with someone else and you are both in the same Discord channel. Mutual muting will prevent feedback through the speakers and will benefit everyone else in the channel.
If someone harasses you, threatens you, or acts s3xually inappropriately, you should take a screenshot of the conversation and send it to the Discord admin team before blocking the user. If the threats are serious or against your life, consider contacting the local police.
How to mute someone on Discord
If you want to deactivate someone in Discord, it’s simple. If you are in a voice channel with the user, right-click on the name and select the Mute box from the menu. Until you uncheck the box, the user’s audio will remain muted.
You can also select a user from the list of members in a channel and right-click on their name. You can choose Mute from the menu as if you were choosing their name from the voice channel.
If an entire channel bothers you (perhaps too many notifications), you can mute the entire channel. Right-click the channel name and select Disable Channel. You can choose to turn it off for 15 minutes, one hour, eight hours, 24 hours, or until you turn it back on.
How to block someone on Discord
If a user has reached a point where you no longer want any interaction with them, you can block them as easily as you can disable them. Right-click the username within the channel itself or in the active users list, then selectBlock.
When you do, it will immediately block the user. If they are on your friends list, it will remove them.
You can also block a user by right-clicking the username and clicking Profile, then clicking the three dots next to Send Message. When you do, choose Block from the menu that appears.
Understand the difference between deactivating and blocking a Discord user, and take the necessary steps to protect yourself from those malicious elements online that could detract from your experience.