Suppose you have a Telegram account that you have not logged in to for over six months. In that case, Telegram has a feature that will automatically delete the account. If you want to delete your Telegram account, however, there is no option to do this directly from the app. You would need to go to the Telegram website.
Before you proceed, you should be aware that once you delete your Telegram account, there is no coming back. This means that you cannot retrieve your account once it has been deleted. When you delete your account, all your messages, Secret Chats, channels, groups media, and everything else on Telegram will be deleted.
While you are undergoing the process, a confirmation code will be sent to the Telegram app on your device. This means you have to have the Telegram app installed on your Android or iOS device.
How to Delete Your Telegram Account Via the Website
First, you need to make sure that you have logged in to your Telegram account.
Next up, launch a browser on your device and go to the Telegram Authorization website. On the website, you can delete your account as well as perform other management settings.
Now, type in your phone number and make sure to enter the correct country code. Once you are done, select the “Next” button.
A confirmation code will be sent to you via the Telegram app. Launch the app on your mobile device, and then tap conversation from Telegram at the top of the list.
When you open the message, you will see a confirmation code. Copy the code.
Now, go back to your browser and enter the confirmation code on the Telegram website.
Now, click the “Sign in” button.
On the screen that comes up next, you should see account management tools. Now, select the “Delete Account” link.
Now, you will see a confirmation message asking you whether you are sure you want to delete your Telegram account. If you have a reason for deleting the account, you can provide it there. Next, click the “Delete My Account” button to confirm the action.
Now, a pop-up message will appear again asking you for final confirmation. Before you click the delete button, you should be aware that if you delete your Telegram account, you will not be able to open another Telegram account using the same number for a few days. If you are okay with this, proceed to confirm your action by clicking the “Yes, Delete My Account” button.
That’s all. Your account has been deleted. You will no longer be able to access your Telegram data via the app.